🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

artistic tool chain ideas for landscape generation sought

Started by
1 comment, last by JoeJ 3 years, 1 month ago

Hi all,

a few years now I have an idea in my mind about a niche 3D game that tries to simulate some real world thing, but not with the aspiration of perfection. At the moment my vision is to implement the game as a browser/WebGL-based game with rather low poly objects. While I think I can cope with the technical part (did some 3D stuff during my studies 30 years ago), my artistic capabilities are rather low. I can create objects, I have some small experience with GMax and Blender. This hopefully suffices to create the moving objects of the game. However, I need a landscape, too: Surface, houses, streets, plants et al. Since the landscape may become larger depending on the scenarios (kilometers/miles at least in one direction), this is probably too much for my capabilities, even with the low poly / bird view approach I plan. So I came up with the idea of generating the landscape procedurally with some manual directions given to the program. Also, due to the potentially larger size, I need to split up the resulting landscape into individual tiles, so that they can be loaded and displayed by the game when they come into sight. In detail, I imagined the following workflow:

(1) landscape generator (geometry / textures) -> (2) uv mapping / texture packing -> (3) Blender import / merge with hand-made scenery, export -> (4) tile splitting (geometry, textures?) -> (5) uv mapping / texture packing -> loadable glTF files

For step 1, I could write my own library to collect the geometry and textures, but would prefer to use some library or tool to do the nitty gritty part, including exporting them to files.