🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Modding - What should I learn more about to help me in develop my modding skills

Started by
3 comments, last by Shaarigan 3 years, 2 months ago

Hi team,

I have noticed that when I learn to mod games, even after I have gained a lot of experience modding, that certain people always seem to to be very far ahead of me with their knowledge. There is a relationship where I am always the one asking the questions and someone else is always the one answering them - unless the question is coming from an absolute beginner.

I suspect that the reason my modding ability never improves beyond a certain point is I lack a general technical knowledge of how games work. I was wondering:

1. Is there something/software/code that I should learn more about to help me understand more about how games work in general.
  2. Is there a way to determine how mod files/code connects relates to each other. For example, if we take the game “Call to Arms” as an example, if I want to figure out how to change the price of a squad, I might go to a file called “squad” and change a value called “cost = 200". Later on I learn through trial and error that there is another folder called “soldier” which I also have to edit the cost of each soldier in the squad. But in the meantime I have spent hours in the squad folder trying to make the squad free without success. Is there some fast way that someone with a game dev background would know to use that would allow him/her to see that the “squad” file and “soldier” file are related when it comes to decreasing the cost of the squad?

Thanks for your help.

Advertisement