🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Collision Detection and Response update

Started by
2 comments, last by Kurt-olsson 3 years, 9 months ago

OMG. It must have been 15 years since i became obsessed with collision detection and resolving/response for the first time. Boy, was i a bad programmer then with very little understanding of 3D math.

I remember giving up and was so jellous of some of the forum members (olii for example) of the math skills. hehe

Today i have 10 years of business programming experience and i can tell you that i quit two years ago.
I love programming and the creativity that goes on, but business applications today isnt even programming anymore. Just lots of NuGet Packages and frameworks and mapping / config. No algorithms and functions just mapping data from point A to B all day long.

Last week i fired DirectX11 up again and tried to make the same demo as before. 3D Math is so much fun, i will continue to learn as much as i can as long as i live. I had much easier this time to solve all my problems that i had before.

So i thought i should show my working collision and resolving without any jitter / glitches and support for all kinds of shapes. I dont clip the velocity in the code but that could be implemented pretty easily.

The collision model is loaded with assimp.

Good to be back! =)

#include "CollisionDetection.h"

void CollisionDetection::ResolveCollisions(Mesh* mesh, Camera* camera)
{
	if (collisionRecursions > MAX_COLLISION_DETECTION_RECURSIONS) //Bail out, player stuck. Go to safe point, last free position frame?
		return;
	//Take the complete Mesh as a parameter instead.
	//Take all the indicies and get the vertex from that list.
	auto faces = mesh->GetFaces();

for (int i = 0; i < faces->size(); i ++) {

//this is how to access a pointer std vector?