🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Looking for game engine, which supports multiplayer networking.

Started by
8 comments, last by osemoka 5 years, 1 month ago

Hi
 I am searching through the net to find engines which are capable of creating multiplayer games in easy way. It’s a part of my programing task at collage. I’ve already “mastered” Unity and Godot engines for that purpose. They have high level api for that, which im fond of. I just need to create simple 2D games like tic tac toe over the network…
Now I'm learing a defold engine with a colyseus server based on node.js, but I'm not sure if i'm capable of understand it without any real tutorials...(there's one example, but currently not working cause of colyseus serialization update). I'm a beginner in gameDev world to be honest. My main language is C#, but I don't care what language I'll need to learn. I comprehended GDscript from godot, which is python like in short time.

I'd really appriciate any help or advices. 

Advertisement

Why not create a 2D MP game with Unity?

Never say Never, Because Never comes too soon. - ryan20fun

Disclaimer: Each post of mine is intended as an attempt of helping and/or bringing some meaningfull insight to the topic at hand. Due to my nature, my good intentions will not always be plainly visible. I apologise in advance and assure you I mean no harm and do not intend to insult anyone.

There isn't a game engine that by default provides multiplayer network capabilities because this is like gameplay, it varies from game to game and there isn't a unified solution how one will handle that. You need at least a server anywhere, it dosen't matter if it is a dedicated server anywhere on the net or a local hosted one in the game itself.