🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Is there any game engine that supports a large world model?

Started by
15 comments, last by Scouting Ninja 6 years, 1 month ago

Hi, First post here. I'm an experienced C++ programmer but I've never used a game engine before.  A few years back I wrote some procedural planet code that used DirectX 9.  It worked pretty well but it was restricted to height maps.  However it did support truly huge worlds, and let me walk around on them. I've now updated it to use octrees of  prism shaped voxels so I can do caves and stuff using something akin to marching cubes, but I haven't updated the graphics in a long time and I would like to use a game engine instead of Direct X if possible.  I use fractals to generate terrain in real time so I don't really have to worry about loading stuff off of disk.  However I do have to do some special things to handle the lack of double-precision on the graphics card. I generate terrain chunks in double and then when I send them to the graphics card, I convert to single precision and transform them to their final location. I guess I'm kind of moving the terrain around the player rather than the other way around. The player is always close to (0,0,0) That works pretty well since the LOD code is sophisticated enough to reduce terrain detail appropriately. I do the collision myself in a separate thread with a separate world model that just exists around the player in order to avoid race conditions with the LOD.  So I guess I don't really need collision code so much, however it might be nice to use real game engine collision code which is probably faster than my clunky code. All I really need is sphere mesh collision right now...... So my question is are there any game engines that will handle this sort of thing, or at least not get in the way