🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Level generation in Unreal Engine 4

Started by
7 comments, last by wessamfathi 6 years, 4 months ago

Hello, I'm trying to design a maze using a mix of procedural and manual generation. I have the maze already generated and would like to place other objects in the maze. The issue is the maze object is created on BeginPlay and so I'm unable to view it in the Editor itself while dragging the object to the Outliner. Any suggestions?

I'm thinking of doing something in the Construction Script or the object Constructor but not not sure if that would be the way to go.

I'm still getting familiar with the Engine code base and only have a little experience in Maya or Blender since I'm a programmer.

Advertisement

Running blueprints in the editor is considered advanced, so they kept it as experimental for a long time; don't know if it still is in 4.18; I am still using 4.15.

Editor Preference  -> Experimental -> Editor Utility Blueprints.(Blutility). You can then either create a custom even for it or use the new class it reveals.

Experimental!

So why it is marked as Experimental is because of how things work in the editor isn't the same as in game. For example deleting a object. The safe way to delete a object in the editor is to select it and to press delete.

Don't use the Actor Destroy function! C++ doesn't cleanup automatically and if you don't know what your doing it's going to lead to memory leaks and a whole bunch of other problems.

The safe way to delete your level is to spawn all the objects as child objects of an empty object. That way you only have to find one object in the editor to delete the whole level when your not happy with the generated result.