🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Engine/Framework Advice - 2D Pixel Art PC Game

Started by
4 comments, last by Scouting Ninja 6 years, 4 months ago

Hey, folks!

I've been researching various engines for the last couple weeks and have narrowed down my choices, but due to the recent changes in some of these engines I haven't been able to find much advice in the way of comparison that isn't a little outdated or aimed at absolute beginners. A little bit about the game: it's going to be a tile-based pixel art horror/mystery game with puzzles. While there isn't going to be any complex combat I do intend to implement some special effects (text and images glitching, character movement changing as part of status effects, etc). I intend for it to be a longer game (I have made a few shorter games). I know C# and Java, and this game will target PC and consoles so I'm not looking for an engine/framework that primarily targets mobile. These are the options I'm most considering (and I have played around with all 3):

Godot

Godot 3.0 just came out, and it seems like a pretty sleek, robust engine for 2D games. The tileset and animation features are really great, and I like the node/scene system as well. In general, I'm not terribly fond of custom scripting languages in engines (which is why I skipped over GameMaker) but I love the open source aspect of Godot, the interface is great, and GDScript seems easy enough to pick up. I'm worried about the flexibility/limitations of GDScript, but can't seem to find many opinions on that. I know that C# capability is technically implemented but it's in alpha and GDScript is designed to work with Godot's other features so If I go with Godot I'll go with GDScript.

Unity