🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Trouble setting up Assimp

Started by
11 comments, last by TheStudent111 9 years ago

Hello, I'm new to this library and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong.

I have Visual Studio 2012 Express

Windows 8.1 64 bit

So far, I went to the Assimp homepage and downloaded assimp--3.0.1270-full.zip and placed in in my folders. Then I

placed the Assimp32d.ll from bin\assimp_debug-dll_win32 to my Debug folder were I keep my other dlls to run the executable.

Then to my project settings I did the following in Visual Studio:

Configuration: All Configuration

C\C++ -> General -> Additional Include directories: C:\assimp--3.0.1270-sdk\include;

Configuration: Debug

Linker-> General -> Additional Library directories: C:\assimp--3.0.1270-sdk\lib\assimp_debug-dll_win32

Linker -> Input -> Additional Dependencies: Assimp32d.lib;

Then I use the following code:

#include <assimp\Importer.hpp>

#include <assimp\scene.h>

#include <assimp\postprocess.h>

#include <string>

using std::string;

bool LoadModel(const string & file)

{

Assimp::Importer importer;

const aiScene * scene = importer.ReadFile(file, aiProcess_CalcTangentSpace | aiProcess_Triangulate | aiProcess_JoinIdenticalVertices | aiProcess_SortByPType);

if(!scene)

{

LoadModel(importer.GetErrorString());

return false;

}

return true;

}

Run, then get this error:

Error 1 error LNK1104: cannot open file 'Assimp32d.lib'

I don't know what I'm doing wrong, can somebody lead me in the right direction. Thanks

Advertisement

Look inside .../assimp/lib/assimp_debug-dll_win32/...

At the step:

"Linker -> Input -> Additional Dependencies: Assimp32d.lib"

It should be:

"Linker -> Input -> Additional Dependencies: assimp.lib"

When you say look inside .../assimp/lib/assimp_debug-dll_win32/...