🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

AexolGL - 3d game engine (web,pc,mobile)

Started by
1 comment, last by AexolGL 9 years, 7 months ago
Hi guys,

I am a mobile developer and I am currently working on a multiplatform game engine.
The engine should be ready by the end of the year. It will allow users ultra fast coding for many platforms such as Android, iOS, Mac, Linux, Windows (PS4 in the future) with Python or C++.

Meanwhile I have published a WebGL based web version on my engine working on Safari, Chrome & Mozilla (javascript). What do you think about this engine? What are you general expectations? What can I do better? How can I make coding faster, better experience for devs?
Examples are here: http://gl.aexol.com/livedit/
Free engine downloadable here: http://gl.aexol.com/engine/web/

It would be awesome to hear some feedback from you guys! Take care!
[attachment=24802:Screen Shot 2014-11-25 at 14.58.26.png]

Advertisement

Just some thoughts.

Do you build a game engine or a render engine ? A game engine should support more game related features (eg. physics libs, entity system, AI sub systems, scripting system, network system, editors/tools ).

The name and notation of AexolGL remindes me of OpenGL. My first thought was, that it was some hardware related GPU API like Mantel.

What are you general expectations?

The honest truth is:

You need to surpass the free engines and will most likely be in direct competition with UDK4,crytek and unity if you want to take money. I would expect at least a single reference game if it costs money or lot of demos if it is free.

What can I do better?

The engine market is ruled by really large player (frostbite,udk4,unity,crytek), most offering some inexpensive license, resulting in really tough competition.