🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Allegro Problems

Started by
10 comments, last by hellz 19 years, 11 months ago
Hi, I started playing around with Allegro today, and I'm having problems compiling programs. Allegro looks to be installed correctly. I'm using Allegro 4.0.3 and Visual Studio .NET. I've got C:\Program Files\Allegro\include in the directory settings for the project (which is a C++ win32 console project) and C:\Program Files\Allegro\lib\msvc for the libraries, yet after trying to compile the following code, I get a lot of warnings and linker errors:

// First tutorial from http://agdn.cjb.net
#include <allegro.h>

int main()
{
	int done = false;
	allegro_init();
	install_keyboard();

set_color_depth(16);
	if (set_gfx_mode(GFX_AUTODETECT, 800, 600, 0, 0) < 0)
	{
		set_color_depth(15);
		if (set_gfx_mode(GFX_AUTODETECT, 800, 600, 0, 0) < 0)
		{
			allegro_message("Unable to initialise graphics module\n%s\n", allegro_error);
			return -1;
		}
	}

acquire_screen();
	textout(screen, font, "Hello, world!", 100, 100, makecol(255, 255, 255));
	release_screen();

while (!done)
	{
		if (key[KEY_ESC]) done = true;
	}

return 0;
}
END_MAIN();