🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Torque 3D engine, worth it?

Started by
17 comments, last by Sean Doherty 19 years, 11 months ago
Hi Im a newb, I have no experience with C++, but I have the will to learn! Recently I learned of an 3D engine called Torque, it seems quite appealing to me, sense it has support for my 3D modelling software, milkshape. It claims that it is the easiest way to start making commercial games, plus the license is reasonably priced at only $100, I am a Big FPS fan, so this looks like its right up my ally, but does anybody here have experience with this engine? Would it be good for a beginner to start learning C++ game development? Thanks
Advertisement
There was a thread on this forum about the very same subject. Use the search button.
Anyway, to respond your question, yes, it's worth it. Even the Quake 1 engine is 10K USD.
I have been doing some research and have found 3 engines Im interested in...

Torque
Genesis 3D
and Neoengine

My question, is, Which one is better for a beginner programmer?
Quote: Original post by Major Payne
Genesis 3D

Not that one. It's woefully old. The other 2 should be fine.
SlimDX | Ventspace Blog | Twitter | Diverse teams make better games. I am currently hiring capable C++ engine developers in Baltimore, MD.
The only problems I have heard are that, Torque is hard for beginners, and is geared mainly towards MP games. And I havnt heard much of anything about Neoengine, what is it?
Torque is well worth every penny...

If you're afraid of it being too hard for a newbie, then buy the book 3D Game Programming All In One (it includes a demo of Torque; you can also download a demo from garagegames.com). That will give you a kickstart.
--------------------Life after death? Is it like terminate and stay resident?