Advertisement

Please help (Concerning 3DS Max 4.2)

Started by June 22, 2002 03:12 AM
0 comments, last by karan13 22 years, 2 months ago
Hey i Need help with any one who works with 3D studio max... My Specs are P4 128 MB RDRAM GeForce2 32MB I am a college student, who is trying to learn how to use 3D Studio max, and bought a book entitled "3ds Max 4 Media Animation", by John P. Chismar... I was doing the first example where we make a billboard for an entertainment ride named Funhouse... Well i follow it all the way, until it comes time for me to have a look what my 13 second animation looks like... However i need to add a fiery glow effect along the edge of the billboard... so i do as the book mentions, and these are the steps in short: 1. Select the desired object to have this fiery effect (In this case, the bilboard, and a bunch of clown objects) and change their Properties->G-Buffer->Object Channel to 1... This way you can assign the Fiery effect to all objects with Channel 1. 2. Open Video Post (Once Video Post is open, i have nothing in queue) 3. Add a scene event... And leave default options... (In this i use my custom Camera for the job, which is what is asked). 4. Add a Image Filter Event and choose Lens effect glow and click Okay. 5. Move the time slider to frame 90... (Total of 390 or 391 frame). 6. Then in the Video Post dialog, Double Click the Lens Effects Glow Queue and choose setup. 7. Press the VP Queue button, so as to see the effects through the custom camera. 8. Press preview and watch the effect occur. 9. (I Change the settings as explained in the book). 10. And then after all done, click OK to close the Lens Effects Glow Dialog box. 11. Now he says take a break and render the animation to see what you have done so far. (In the next chapter he explains that you can only see the Flame glow if you render the animation through Video Post). 12. So i choose Add Image Output Event Button and then choose where i wish to save the file and what type of f